OUR INGREDIENTS & FOOD ALLERGENS EXPLAINED

Quality allergen-free ingredients

At Rocket Foods, our dedication to creating allergy friendly breakfast meals and snack products began with our founder’s own food sensitivities and his search for wholesome, tasty foods.

Below, you can read about our product ingredients and our strict procedures in manufacturing all of our food products. We demand high allergen-free standards from all of our ingredient suppliers to ensure a quality product you can trust.

We want you to feel confident about choosing Rocket Foods products. If you have any further questions about our manufacturing, products or ingredients, please email us at info@rocket-foods.com.

Strict quality control in our products

While no food producer can guarantee zero risk of allergens, we have created strict manufacturing protocols to make products you can trust:

  • All ingredient suppliers must provide written declarations about what allergens may be present in their ingredients, including gluten.
  • We conduct routine raw ingredient allergen testing and random finished product allergen testing using verified scientific procedures.
  • We have strict shipping and receiving policies that include tracing and tracking all ingredients.
  • Staff training and contracts ensure that everyone from the front office to the shipping department understands the severity of food allergies.
  • Rocket Foods products are manufactured and packaged in a dedicated gluten-free facility.

How Rocket Foods avoids gluten and the top eleven food allergens:

Gluten

At Rocket Foods, all of our products are certified Gluten Free by the Gluten Free Certification Organization (GFCO) which has a standard of 10 parts per million (ppm).

In Canada, our products without the GFCO certificate label carry the industry designation “Pure Oats”. The Canadian Celiac Association and Health Canada recognize Pure Oats as a healthful addition to most gluten-free diets although they may not be labeled gluten free under current law.

This law is currently under review by Health Canada which includes a proposal to allow Pure Oats to be labeled as gluten free. Until that change, our Canadian granolas that contain Pure Oats are labeled as wheat, barley and rye free.

Wheat

No ingredients containing wheat are used in the facility.

Peanuts

No ingredients containing peanut are used in the facility. All staff members sign contracts to ensure they do not eat peanut products before work or bring them into any area of the facility, including the lunchroom.

Dairy

No ingredients containing dairy are used in the facility. This includes all derivatives such as casein or whey. The facility is certified Kosher pareve through BC Kosher.

Eggs

No ingredients containing eggs are used in the facility.

Tree Nuts (i.e. almonds, cashews, pecans)

No ingredients containing tree nuts are used in the facility. All staff members sign contracts to ensure they do not eat tree nut products before work or bring them into any area of the facility, including the lunchroom.

Fish

No ingredients containing fish are used in the facility.

Mustard

No ingredients containing mustard are used in the facility.

Sesame

No sesame seeds are used in the production of products in the facility. Some ingredients we have on site have a “may contain sesame” on their label.

Shellfish

No ingredients containing shellfish (including crustaceans) are used in the facility.

Soy

Soy lecithin is present on the granola line in the semi-sweet chocolate chips and 70% dark chocolate chunks as a fat emulsifier. Soybeans are packaged on the trail mix/ingredient line along with the 70% dark chocolate chunks pouches and semi-sweet mini chocolate chip pouches which may contain soy lecithin.

Soy cross contamination is a possibility with all products at Rocket Foods. Because of this, you will see soy allergen declarations on all of our products.

Sulphites

No ingredients containing sulphite preservatives are used in the facility.

Manufacturing facility

The Rocket Foods manufacturing facility is organized into three separate lines:

  • the granola bar line
  • the granola/oatmeal line
  • the chocolate/seeds/trail mix line

These three lines are not separated by walls. Manufacturing schedules are set up to minimize cross contamination, but cross contamination is still a possibility.